Real Estate

HELOC - Not sure which to go with...help please!

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 30th, 2017 11:46 am
[OP]
May 20, 2007
16 posts
1 upvote
Whitby

HELOC - Not sure which to go with...help please!

I'll try to summarize. Hoping for advice, I'm not very good with this stuff. The wife and I want to get a HELOC. We have a current mortgage with a non-big bank up for renewal in July 2017 (I use a broker). Option 1) I saw CIBC offers HELOC's even if you don't have your mortgage with them, so they offered me Prime +.5 which I guess is pretty standard. There is a promo of Prime -.5 for the first 6 months. I don't bank with CIBC day-to-day. I checked with TD, but their rates are crazy. Option 2) Spoke to my broker. He suggests breaking my current mortgage, and locking in on a new one with a HELOC product attached to it. He said this will kill two birds with one stone because it locks me in at today's rates, as he's pretty sure they will be higher when I'm set to renew. He could get me a mortgage with a HELOC product at the same rate as CIBC of prime +.5. He could probably lock my mortgage in at 2.69% or 2.79% now. I questioned why this is higher than what we are seeing elsewhere in mortgage rates currently which is about 2.49%. He said that's the rate for a mortgage with the HELOC product attached to it.

So. Based on this I don't know whether I should go with CIBC or break my mortgage to lock in a lower mortgage rate now, and get a HELOC at the same time. The penalty to break my current mortgage is probably $2500, but if the ongoing mortgage rate will be cheaper its probably worth it. CIBC also wants to take a crack at my mortgage business when it's time to renew, so I'm thinking they will offer me a good rate...but who knows what that will be at that time. Any thoughts or words of wisdom? If I go CIBC am I limiting my options to get a mortgage elsewhere if I have a HELOC under them?

Thanks in advance from a guy that doesn't know who to listen to!!!
7 replies