• Last Updated:
  • Mar 9th, 2012 4:02 pm
Tags:
Deal Fanatic
Apr 20, 2011
7747 posts
2750 upvotes
ON
vaportech wrote: Why do people keep spreading around this myth that you must get permission before you record someone. In Canada as long as one party knows then the recordings are completely legal.

This is correct.

Someone asked for a source:
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts/C-46/
http://laws-lois.justice.gc.ca/eng/acts ... ml#docCont
S184.2 essentially states a person (including you) can record provided consent is obtained by at least one party - you consent for yourself to record, therefore legal.

If not that exact section, its somewhere around there. I'm no lawyer :p
Oct 14, 2007
373 posts
47 upvotes
xjune9x wrote: Except..that you need their permission to record the conversations or i can get sued if this ever get to court.
Not true. As long as only one of the participants in the conversation is aware the call is being recorded it's okay.
Sep 16, 2011
120 posts
9 upvotes
TORONTO
Very simple. You sue in small claims for the lost value.

See here's the deal. Once you prove your case in court you send the docs to the Crown stating fraud, CC your MPP. Advise all parties that a conviction will force a criminal investigation.

The dealer will now cut you check to make you go away. They will likely force you to sign an agreement.

They committed contract fraud by not disclosing. Be smart and talk to the owner of the dealership.
Deal Fanatic
Nov 18, 2002
7041 posts
652 upvotes
BC Interior
I hate to rain on this parade but you may want to triple check the carfax/carproof. It's not entirely out of the realm of possibility that the reported damage may not be for your car (though evidently it shows up). Stranger things have happened.
Deal Addict
Jul 20, 2003
1006 posts
85 upvotes
Toronto