Help with investment

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 8th, 2019 4:32 pm
[OP]
Nov 24, 2009
72 posts
Toronto

Help with investment

I am a novice at investments but had to move all investment from an advisor’s hand due to various reasons but because of this, I moved them over to TD Self Direct.

It is shocking to realize how much TD Waterhouse get for commissions from all my funds and that made me realize how much the old advisor was getting for managing them.

I have some front-load and some back-load funds. TD provide a statement at the end of the years stating there are trailer commissions they have received from the fund firms and it is between $350-$400 annum. I was told the commissions will goes down as time evolves due to the nature of the funds.

DYN 454 - frontload
DYN 5710 - frontload
MFC 2898 - frontload
MFC 3655 - backload
MFC 3654 - backload
CIG 6929 – frontload but I can’t sell it until redemption window is open again

TD Waterhouse does not have the low fee funds for the two DYNs but they are not doing too bad for the return but as for all the MFC funds, the 3655 and 654 can be a switch in kind to MKB and QCN ETFs respectively with low fees and no trailer fees.

I have tried to look up the two ETFs but is having a hard time understanding if they are any good. Would love to hear your thoughts and suggestions.
9 replies
Deal Guru
Jan 27, 2006
11345 posts
4634 upvotes
Vancouver, BC