• May 24th, 2010 12:43 pm
Tags:
None
May 14, 2010
26 posts
Toronto, ON / Queens…

Help with Resume critique **updated again!**

Hi all,
I've been reading some of the threads here and find them really useful, so I'm hoping I could get some tips or a critique of my resume? The one big problem I think there may be with my resume is the amount of text, it used to be trimmer with less details, but I keep reading all these sites on resume improvement that told me to expand on details so employers know exactly what you can do, instead of putting generic stuff like "problem solver" but then not expanding on it. Now it just feels like there's too much text. It's 2 pages, I usually print front and back to keep it at 1 page if I hand in a paper copy since I know nobody likes to read resumes more than 1 page long.

I've been sending out my resume for the past 3 months with no response, so I know it needs to be improved, I just don't know how else to further improve it.

Please check post #15 for new resume.
16 replies
Deal Addict
May 4, 2010
1863 posts
582 upvotes
You answered the question yourself, there is WAY too much text, nobody is going to read all that. Find a way to summarize the points in a way that isn't wordy and convoluted but SIMPLE and too the point. You don't need to list everything you did in the job but only things that are VERY relevant to the overall position and your value in the position/what you're trying to aim for. Your profile section is just a big blob of text and it makes one not even want to go near it sorry to say, you can easily fix this though.

Again, try to look at it through the employers eyes and pretend that resume landed on your desk amongst a pile of others. They want a quick view of what you're all about/what you can offer. You need to find a balance between all that detail and being concise.