Tags:
Deal Expert
Feb 29, 2008
16662 posts
1789 upvotes
Montreal
SickBeast wrote:
Jul 18th, 2017 11:37 am
Leaks with water cooling seem extremely rare, however you do hear about them from time to time. I have been running an H60 for over 5 years without any issues. It's hard to go back to air cooling once you have experienced water cooling. It's dead silent even under full load, and the temperatures are outstanding. Plus like I keep saying, it dumps all the heat outside of your case, keeping all your other components cool. Actually if I were you I would look into water cooled GTX 1080 Ti cards also.
Leaks are not the issue. The problem is you have two failure points: the pump and the fan, unlike a regular HSF. While the fan is easy to replace, the pump is not, and will require a new unit, with considerable downtime. A failed HS fan can be replaced in 10 minutes. My Hydro h55 failed 1 week out of warranty. I was p.o. to say the least. I dug up my old CM 212 and had to dismount the board the change the retention brackets back again.

At any rate, do any of Corsairs products actually have an AM4 mounting system?

NCIX sells the AM4 kit for the CM 212. Newegg has the AM4 kit for Noctua.
Deal Addict
Nov 15, 2011
1751 posts
745 upvotes
Saint John
mr_raider wrote:
Jul 18th, 2017 11:09 pm
Found the corsair kit:

http://www.corsair.com/en-us/am4-amd-re ... es-coolers

I suggest you order it ASAP if you want it on time.
Wow, $15 USD for an AM4 mount. So add an extra $20 CAD on top of the cost of H100i. Or get a Noctua (a company that actually cares about its customers) and get a free AM4 mount with free shipping...

I realize this is anecdotal, but my brother-in-law - who's always been a HPC kind of guy that likes lots of cores - used to own an NH-D14. He sold it and bought an H100i... only to regret the purchase so much that he sold the H100i and bought an NH-D15.