• Mar 16th, 2010 6:37 am
Tags:
[OP]
Deal Expert
Apr 21, 2004
34301 posts
6253 upvotes

Help - unusual buzzing noise from my microwave oven

I just got home from a work assignment and was told (by my family) that there was something wrong with the microwave oven. I looked it up quickly on the web and found this.

If you hear an unusual buzzing noise, the magnetron (the component that actually generates the microwaves) or other electronic module may be broken. This is not easily fixed; contact a service technician.

I'm a tenant and I have a $50 deductible to pay but was wondering if I can ask the landlord to replace the oven for fear of radiation or problem from the existing one. The unit is already 5 years old and we were the first tenant.

I don't mind other appliances replaced but because I'm no rocket scientist, I'm not sure what the effects of a broken microwave is. It head up food but I am telling my wife not to use it anymore for fear of too much irradiation, or am I just paranoid?

Thanks.
12 replies
Deal Fanatic
Oct 22, 2007
6028 posts
968 upvotes
Mississauga
I also have a buzzing sound coming from my 25 year old Sears microwave that's has been heard for a couple years. When I lift the front end and let it back down again it goes away giving me the indication there may be a screw or two loose and it's the exterior cabinet that's buzzing.
In order for the landlord to want to reply they may want to know if the buzzing is indeed as a result of your "in bold" statement, which could be a safetly feature. Also the replacement maybe a cheaper model.
Jan 2, 2009
145 posts
4 upvotes
Pembroke
it pretty easy if landlord does not want to replaced it ..go to waltmart and get one for less than 100 $ put the broken one in a closet and when you moved out put it back in
cheer
Deal Addict
Mar 8, 2002
3798 posts
593 upvotes
Ottawa
Sounds like this is an over the range (OTR) microwave, am I correct? Which one?