Art and Photography

hi all experts....D40X or A100K?

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 17th, 2007 8:43 pm
Tags:
None

Poll: D40X or A100K?

• Total votes: 9. You have voted on this poll.
D40X

78%
A100K

22%

Poll ended at Dec 23rd, 2007 1:13 pm

Jul 4, 2006
395 posts
14 upvotes
Richmond hill

hi all experts....D40X or A100K?

hi, i'm a noob...i have asked some questions previously on verious posts...
but now...i finally come down to these 2 options and i will get it this weekend....

nikon D40X
http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/prodde ... 678&catid=
the weight is nice cause' it is small, nikon have one of the largest collection of lens...but...size is too small for nice grip, no info screen on the top....

sony A100K
http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/prodde ... 776&catid=
nice solid feel although a bit bulky, super steady shot....but.....not many lens to choose from sony or minolta, noisey at iso800 or 1600, still have no info screen on the top

I went to the store to try the actual thing, both are actually not bad, sigh...that's why i m struggling.....

thanks in advance
:D
please give me some input as of which one to choose, thanks a million.....
9 replies
Deal Fanatic
Oct 26, 2003
7174 posts
217 upvotes
Nepean
which part are you struggling at?

it all seems pretty simple if you know what you want to do
Deal Guru
Sep 3, 2003
13027 posts
2269 upvotes
Toronto
Good to see you already know the differences.

The D40X and A100 share similar sensors, but with different processing. I like the A100's bigger body and in-body stabilization, but as you said, noise can be a problem above ISO800. The new firmware revision is said to help a little bit. You can use Minolta's older lenses... they're not too hard to find. At least you'll have AF with older lenses, unlike the D40X.
Deal with it.
Jul 4, 2006
395 posts
14 upvotes
Richmond hill
KorruptioN wrote: Good to see you already know the differences.
i did quite a bit of researching lately....lol....