• Last Updated:
  • Jul 15th, 2018 2:44 am
Tags:
[OP]
Aug 7, 2007
118 posts
14 upvotes

Hiring trades ?

Hi all. Newbie here planning to build a new home. When you hire trades, is a boilerplate contract commonly used, or would it be reasonable to just outline the tasks, costs, who supplies the materials, and the timeline (start, finish dates, late fees), etc & have both parties sign the agreement. Appreciate your thoughts & advice
16 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 17, 2007
1574 posts
627 upvotes
Alliston, ON
Hire a GC/project manager and let them worry about hiring each trade and organizing the timeline for their work.
Unless you plan on being on site almost everyday to make sure the specific trades show up when needed
Sep 20, 2008
971 posts
151 upvotes
Toronto
wannadeal wrote:
Jul 12th, 2018 3:38 pm
Hi all. Newbie here planning to build a new home. When you hire trades, is a boilerplate contract commonly used, or would it be reasonable to just outline the tasks, costs, who supplies the materials, and the timeline (start, finish dates, late fees), etc & have both parties sign the agreement. Appreciate your thoughts & advice
Do what schade suggests. It's not worth the aggravation and stress to juggle everything. I do this on a daily basis and sometimes I just want to fire people on the spot because they're doing something incorrectly or can't read drawings. TV makes building a home look easy, but you do not realize all the men and women behind the cameras doing all the hard work.
Project 708
Architectural Pencil Pusher
Deal Fanatic
May 12, 2004
9642 posts
3945 upvotes
Ottawa
That’s not how it works in the real world.
Censorship is telling a man he can't have a steak just because a baby can't chew it.
- Mark Twain
Penalty Box
Feb 25, 2018
393 posts
130 upvotes