• Last Updated:
  • Jan 6th, 2019 2:14 pm
[OP]
Jun 14, 2009
299 posts
11 upvotes
Toronto

Hockey Helmet fitting for kid

Guys/Mods: not sure if this is in parenting or sports forum so feel free to move...

I have no background in hockey/skating so I am seeking help from any of you hockey parents/experts out there

Essentially, my son has a skating class for a few sessions and they're required to get hockey helmet and skates. We tried Bauer and CCM helmets for different sizes but it seems like the Medium ones will be "tight" for him (he claims it's tight) and the Large ones are too loose (we can see it's too big coz we can move it on his head). He's turning 8 soon and we went to different stores etc... Same result, the guys recommend "Medium" Bauer, Medium CCM, etc etc etc... Obviously, we just limited price to $100 (as paying up over $100 for a skating class doesnt seem to make sense) Went to Sportchek, Hockey Life, Just Hockey?, etc... If it's any help, we did measure his head to be 55cm... which is exactly medium too for helmets like CCM, Bauer...

My question really is: is it normal for it to be "tight"? Is there a way to make this a better fit? How does one know if it's really too tight? Not sure if continuous pressing on the foam will help (on the medium size) or anything can be added to the "Large" size helmet to make it more fit... The guys selling the hockey helmets stated that they need to have the face masks on (as most skating rinks require kids to have this on) the helmet so I'm not sure if that is also the problem which makes it too tight on my kid's temples... Either way, he needs a helmet as it's a requirement, the question is: what is the right fit? Based on what I read, it should be snug but not tight... I guess no way to tell until after he skates with it for an hour???

Any thoughts? Many thanks for your help
6 replies
Deal Fanatic
Mar 10, 2005
6575 posts
1244 upvotes
eilrach wrote:
Dec 28th, 2018 8:01 pm