• Oct 12th, 2019 1:22 pm
[OP]
Deal Expert
Aug 2, 2004
30497 posts
5037 upvotes
East Gwillimbury

Home Automation Using Home Assistant

Home Assistant is an automation hub. It's open source, runs locally and maintains your privacy. It will run on a Raspberry Pi, a Virtual Machine, a NAS, Linux, Windows etc. Currently it supports over 1330 components (as of March 24th).

Why would you want this?

1. Control or monitor: lights, appliances, thermostat, alarm system, video cameras, garage doors, people, locks, televisions, door bells
2. Create automation rules
3. Use your cell phone, tablet or voice to control anything even when you're not at home. No need to run apps, works from any browser
4. It is cool (Warning: It is very addictive)

The purpose of this thread is to share automation ideas. Here is a glimpse of my setup

Main Page

0.PNG

Alarm Panel (Not sure why the numbers are so small)

3.PNG

Thermostat

4.PNG

Weather

5.PNG

Sample Automations

7.PNG

I am no expert, but I will be happy to help where I can. My setup is 99% Z-Wave, the only WiFi device I have is the doorbell. Voice is done with Google Home (you can see it on the main screen). It also works with Alexa but I don't own one.

I ran it on a Raspberry Pi 3B initially and moved to a 3B+ when it was released. I currently have it running on a spare Intel NUC. The hub is constantly monitoring the state of each component and I can trigger events based on weather, time, presence, motion.

For example, I can have the lights turn on in the drive way 15 minutes after the sun sets or I can have my garage door close once it detects my car is parked for more than 2 minutes.
157 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 28, 2007
2123 posts
1442 upvotes
SW Ontario
What did you use for a Thermostat, assumong it's Z-wave?

I've been using EcoBee simply because it was free, and I liked there additional room sensors at the time.
I'd rather be outdoors camping, kayaking, and mountain biking ...
Deal Addict
Nov 27, 2005
2901 posts