Home Hardware Does Not Want Online Orders

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 19th, 2017 2:07 am
[OP]
Mar 8, 2017
1 posts

Home Hardware Does Not Want Online Orders

HI everyone,

I am just curious if anyone has experienced what I experienced this week.

I am a small business owner (Janitorial) and I order most of my supplies through home hardware. As my local store is pretty small and they rarely stock anything I need, I find it convenient to order online so I can get a wide range of their products. Also, all my items arrive in the same order and I don't have to make multiple trips.

I had made a few orders through online ordering (5) in the past for a few waxing jobs. Finally this week, I went to pickup my latest order (utility buckets, floor buff, spray bottle, dry mop and pad, vacuum bags) and I was more or less growled at by the csr.

It was explained to me that the local stores do not like online ordering because the store does not get a "cut" and that I should be coming into the store and ordering through them anyway. I was so put off by the way the csr was speaking to me that I simply walked out of the store and didn't pickup my order that I had already paid for.

I sent an email to head office regarding my experience. This was their reply.

"Hello -----,
Thank you for contacting Home Hardware Stores Limited. I was really sorry to read that you did not have a very positive experience at the ------ Home Hardware store location in --------.
Please be assured that we take these types of comments very seriously and we plan to review this incident with the store owner and manager of retail sales and operations.
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us. We appreciate your continued patronage.
Sincerely,"