Home & Garden

Home insurance... who is usually the cheapest?

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 22nd, 2006 8:08 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Deal Addict
Jun 12, 2005
2280 posts
19 upvotes

Home insurance... who is usually the cheapest?

I currently have Meloche Monnex but their rates are higher than Bel Air Direct for Home and Auto Insurance. My plans were to switch to Bel Air Direct in March. I am new to owning a house.
9 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 2, 2001
15351 posts
5624 upvotes
I found Meloche to be a little higher on home insurance as well (I'm still with them though).

Make sure when comparing policies you compare the same features, as with some policies they offer coverage for accidental damage/loss (Such as dropping your TV).
May 22, 2006
317 posts
15 upvotes
Montreal
funny . i just got meloche too. But i found their rates cheaper than belair (by about 200$) . I tried to compare apples with apples as much as possible. every company have different deductibles and slightly different coverages.
Dec 10, 2006
40 posts
I have tried the non-broker direct companies (Belair, RBC, PC) for home & auto insurance but I have found they are idiots after a problem happens. Plus you end up spending oodles of ignore time on the phone waiting to talk to them .

Went back to Dominion of Canada. Very good rates on home & auto and excellent service thru my broker.
Deal Fanatic
Feb 1, 2006
9491 posts
615 upvotes
Muskoka
TrevorK wrote:
Dec 21st, 2006 11:42 pm
I found Meloche to be a little higher on home insurance as well (I'm still with them though).

Make sure when comparing policies you compare the same features, as with some policies they offer coverage for accidental damage/loss (Such as dropping your TV).
You should never make a home insurance claim for a small thing like a dropped TV! Unless it was some $5k LCD, maybe.
Jun 3, 2006
645 posts
38 upvotes
Markham