Home owner denying access to outdoor power plug for the block heater

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 22nd, 2019 8:07 am
[OP]
Jan 17, 2019
1 posts

Home owner denying access to outdoor power plug for the block heater

I am in a very confusing situation. Here is my situation -
I am a resident of Ontario. I have rented a house, and I pay my rent individually. My rent lease covers all utilities and parking space for one car. I am only one owning a car in the house of all. Unlike the last owner with whom I had a similar arrangement, this owner is not allowing me to use outdoor power plug for my car's block heater. I live in Northern Ontario, and my car is ancient and relies on the block hear for a smooth start in the morning. He has unpowered the plug and is asking me $50 for a month for access with reason that it was not part of the lease. Being a student and already a high rent, $50 for three months would be a hefty expense. Is it right of him to ask this money? My lease already says that hydro covered by owner and there is a facility to park one vehicle. Can he land me in trouble for using power extension from the house and not paying him extra for outdoor power plug?
36 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 13, 2004
1299 posts
206 upvotes
Mississauga
If u leave it plugged in all night then it will probably cost about $60 a month. I think its fair to ask for $50 a month.
Deal Fanatic
Mar 23, 2008
9751 posts
6140 upvotes
Edmonton
You mention "last owner"... Did the property change hands, or was that a different property? If this is the same property, you might have grounds to file a claim with the LTB based on the landlord reduced the services provided. You can contact the LTB to find out if you have a case. The form to fill out is the T3 form, located here:
http://www.sjto.gov.on.ca/ltb/forms/

Plan B (especially if heat is included in your rent) is to crack open a window and run an extension cord from your bedroom out to the car...

C
Deal Fanatic
Feb 15, 2006
8283 posts
2567 upvotes