[OP]
Feb 3, 2016
11 posts
2 upvotes
North York, ON

hopping around bank promos

Hey guys,

I'm a young professional looking to get into investing,
I want to start with something low profile and low risk and then get into something higher risk/reward when I am more comfortable/knowledgeable.

I have seen some people mention here that they hop around different bank promos and i'm just wondering what the actual process is like,

I imagine you would have to set up accounts with all the different banks and you just move your money over to the one with the highest promotional rate..
but, is this only for GICs? How does this work with banks who are offering promotional rates for their savings account?
I would think once you set up new savings account and run the course with the promotional rates, future promos on these savings account would not apply to you as you are not a new customer.

If someone can clarify the strategy and offer some insight, that would be great!

Thank you
40 replies
Penalty Box
Dec 27, 2013
7718 posts
3574 upvotes
Toronto
yeah truly a future proof strategy hoping around with your $5,000.00 to make an extra .25% on your money for that promo... That's what these guys do bro. Don't get sucked into the allure of promo chasing. The only ones doing it are the ones with $10,000 thinking they are smart.

real money has better things to do.

but really - and I'm going to be candid with you. If you need help understanding how to take advantage of a promotional offer, then just stick to a mutual fund.. You will have way more success. just go into any 1 of the big 5, sit with an advisor, and tell them you want to invest and start small.

how much moeny u have left over per month? $500 a month? throw that into your TFSA into a growth portfolio and let it ride.
Deal Addict
Nov 25, 2014
1724 posts
926 upvotes
Newton Brook, ON