Tags:
[OP]
Deal Addict
Sep 10, 2005
3548 posts
766 upvotes
GTA

How bad is the HH3000 from Bell?

I'm considering helping my gf order Bell gigabit for her apartment since it's wired with fibre.

I have no experience with the HH3000 and haven't used a Bell modem in years. Obviously, for her own uses, she doesn't need much. But me, personally, I like to tinker a bit. I'm used to ubiquiti products or regular commercial routers with tomato or dd-wrt firmware. I would at least like to change basic settings like wifi channels, port forwarding, DNS servers, etc.

I would even just throw in a raspberry Pi there for a pihole so changing DNS servers would be useful.

Is it at least as basic as the Hitron 3ACR modems from Rogers?

Oh and her apartment is only around 600sqft so it's not like range should be an issue, I would hope.

Internet only. No tv or phone

Appreciate any input. Thanks
15 replies
Deal Addict
Apr 17, 2011
1398 posts
799 upvotes
Toronto
The range seems to be pretty good on these things. My only gripe so far even though I'm new to the device is you cannot put it in bridge mode and run your own router through it that way to extend the range.
XBL: Swauny Jones
PSN: SwaunyJones
Deal Addict
May 31, 2003
2911 posts
137 upvotes
Toronto
I mean, tinkering for yourself is one thing - but why not just let it be for her, for the sake of simplicity? For a 600 sq.f place, the HH3000 will be more than sufficient, without the need for additional equipment.
"The crows seemed to be calling his name, thought Caw." - Jack Handey
References
HeatWare
[OP]
Deal Addict
Sep 10, 2005
3548 posts
766 upvotes
GTA
Yeah, probably won't need to even attempt using another router.

As for tinkering, nothing elaborate. Just basic settings like wireless channels, DNS servers, things like that. Just wasn't sure how locked down these things are. Wireless settings would be useful since it's an apartment so there are tons of other signals to deal with.
Deal Guru
May 9, 2006
10664 posts