• Last Updated:
  • Jul 4th, 2006 10:23 pm
Tags:
None
Banned
Jul 5, 2005
352 posts
Richmond Hill
You might also want to try to get quotes from a bunch of different insurers. I was getting quotes of $2,000 - $2,600 and I've been driving for about 8-9 years with no accidents or tickets!

Then I found some link on my Alumni's e-newsletter to some smalltime insurance agency, and they gave me a quote of $1,600! I still have to verify if it includes all the coverage as the other companies which were giving me higher quotes, but that's still quite the savings.

Also, if you or other members in your household belong to any professional associations or alumni's see if you can get a group discount through it.
[OP]
Sep 3, 2005
607 posts
what i think ill do is give money for my dad to buy it and buy the insurance. when i get pulled over or get into an accident, ill just say i was borrowing it. i hope the insurance will cover that?
Banned
Jul 5, 2005
352 posts
Richmond Hill
MrSquirrel wrote:what i think ill do is give money for my dad to buy it and buy the insurance. when i get pulled over or get into an accident, ill just say i was borrowing it. i hope the insurance will cover that?
Does your dad already have a car? IIRC, if your dad already has a car, he can't be the primary on a second car if there is another insurable driver in the household. Someone else might want to chime in, but I don't think you can do what you're planning on doing.
Deal Guru
Jun 12, 2003
14442 posts
934 upvotes
Markham
ur dad can't be primary for two cars when you're there...

if there was a way around it... i'd be driving my own car now.
ShadowVlican
Deal Fanatic
Jan 11, 2004
8514 posts
372 upvotes
Toronto
put $1000 in the deductable..
"When operating the viewfinder diopter control with your eye to the viewfinder, care should be taken not to put your finger in your eye accidentally."
Aug 4, 2005
789 posts
8 upvotes
Stouffville