Personal Finance

How do I file income tax from 5 years ago?

• Last Updated:
  • Jan 11th, 2011 7:48 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Apr 9, 2008
372 posts
89 upvotes
Bby

How do I file income tax from 5 years ago?

I was going through some old records last night and realized that I did not file my income tax in 2006. I was a full time university student with a part time job so I'm sure I'll get some money back. How do I go about filing this? Is it too late? I do not have a t4 or the form from the university

Thanks for any info
9 replies
Deal Addict
Mar 23, 2008
1531 posts
289 upvotes
Edmonton
Download Studio Tax from 2005. You can request your T4 and other forms from CRA, I believe, or you can request them from the originating sources again.

Clint
Apr 25, 2008
148 posts
4 upvotes
The forms are available here: http://www.cra-arc.gc.ca/formspubs/t1gn ... s-eng.html

You may be able to use some software like ufile to file older tax forms - not sure. If not get your paper and pen and start filling it out with your t4's and all other required documents.

if you dont have a t4 you should contact the people you worked for. your school should have a record of your tuition form (i think its a t2202a) - i know dalhousie let you access them online.

Basically, any forms you dont have you should contact the people you should have gottem them from (rrsp from financial institution, t5 from banks for interest etc).

not sure about timeframe to get a refund - its either 3 years or 7 years - i dont remember. past that they wont grant a refund....however if you owe them money they can go back as far as they want.
Deal Addict
Nov 15, 2010
1648 posts
209 upvotes
Is anyone sure how far back you can get refunds?
Jun 27, 2005
965 posts
103 upvotes
Oakville, ON
I've read up to 10 years prior.
Deal Fanatic
May 23, 2003
8556 posts
584 upvotes
GTA