Cell Phones

How do you use NFC?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 25th, 2019 12:39 am
Tags:

Poll: Do you use NFC?

• Total votes: 57. You have voted on this poll.
Yes, my phone has it and it is useful

54%
No, my phone has it but it is not useful

26%
No, I wish my phone had it

2%
No, I don't care about it

18%
Deal Expert
Aug 2, 2004
30270 posts
4861 upvotes
East Gwillimbury
hvwozq wrote:
Mar 19th, 2019 3:58 pm
They might even have the full real card number, but the app and their email to me only show the last 4 digits. Some people might think that I am an amateur and I gave my card number to Lyft, but no, Lyft got it from Apple Pay.
They definitely have the full card number. There is a formula (checksum). You can't make up 16 random digits. The first 4 are the issuing bank, the next twelve have to fit a pattern. If they have the last 4, they have the rest.
Deal Addict
Jan 13, 2014
1139 posts
416 upvotes
Calgary
hvwozq wrote:
Mar 19th, 2019 1:37 pm
That's BS. I used Apple Pay with Lyft, and yet Lyft still got the last 4 digits of my real card number.
Actually, that doesn't disprove my point at all. It's quite possible that during the authorization process, the real card number gets re-generated from the virtual one. It doesn't mean the real number is stored on the phone at all.

Edit - here's Samsung's description on Samsung Pay is secure.

https://www.samsung.com/us/support/answer/ANS00043932/
Deal Addict
Sep 10, 2005
3691 posts
892 upvotes
GTA
When you setup your card with Apple Pay, the card issuer or bank is the one who assigns the Device Account Number. That's the number used to process transactions. On iPhones, this number is encrypted on the Secure Enclave, not the actual card number.

So, I assume the card issuer passed on the last four digits there as an identifier of sorts or whatever.

Also, you can't get the full number from just the four digits alone. There's a reason these numbers can be shown on receipts.
Deal Addict
Aug 18, 2018
1262 posts
856 upvotes