None
[OP]
Deal Addict
Feb 14, 2007
2170 posts
454 upvotes
Toronto

How to get free satellite TV?

To my awareness (unless something changed in the last few years), it's legal to get FTA channels in Canada via satellite. Anybody has any suggestions on how to get around getting it? I don't mind to pay <$200 to set it up, including the cost of the satellite itself. I'm a complete noob in this area, so looking for some advice on what needs to be done - how to pick a dish (any specific suggestions on the model?), how to configure it, and if I'll need to get anybody else involved to point the dish in the right direction. I consider myself to be pretty technically-proficient, unless some real complicated things need to be done.

I don't have any specific preferences as to what I'm planning to watch (I expect it'll be some sports, news, and maybe sitcoms). I'm currently getting about 10 HD channels with my antenna, but would like to see whether it's possible to expand that number. TV is not something I'm willing to pay for on a monthly basis, no matter how little it is, so I don't care about any promotional packages (less reg-priced) from any providers.

I'm in GTA, if that matters.

Thanks.
7 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jul 20, 2004
6935 posts
81 upvotes
In my experience, satellite is more trouble than it's worth. It gets hit and needs so much babysitting that a decent HTPC will blow it out of the water.
vero95 wrote:
Dec 13th, 2012 11:42 am
LOL what does project management have to do with project being over budget?
vero95 wrote:
Mar 1st, 2013 12:34 pm
$5c for a plastic bag >= $30 for a jug of milk
[OP]
Deal Addict
Feb 14, 2007
2170 posts
454 upvotes
Toronto
flashy_mcflash wrote:
Mar 8th, 2012 3:51 pm
In my experience, satellite is more trouble than it's worth. It gets hit and needs so much babysitting that a decent HTPC will blow it out of the water.