• Oct 2nd, 2009 3:26 pm
Tags:
None
Aug 2, 2007
74 posts
1 upvote

how important is live view on a dslr?

Hi All

Hope you guys and gals can help me with this question.

How important is live view on a dslr?

I'm a newbie and trying to decide on D3000 vs D5000.
I've read different reviews and I'm not sure if I'll be able to take advantage or notice the difference in D5000 over D3000 except for live view.

The only reason I'm asking is because live view seems to be pretty useful on a point and shoot camera but how useful would it be for a newbie that just want to take pictures of family and maybe some landscape on a dslr?

Should I spend a the extra $300 on live view and video on the D5000?

Thanks

Andy
50 replies
Deal Addict
Jan 25, 2006
1347 posts
7 upvotes
it might be useful when u want to take a pic at a weird angle, or like, when u want to focus on different parts of the frame (i think).

other than that, its not absolutely necessary, imo.

with that said, I would put live view as one of my requirements when buying my next dslr.
[OP]
Aug 2, 2007
74 posts
1 upvote
vincent-poon wrote:
Sep 28th, 2009 11:37 pm
it might be useful when u want to take a pic at a weird angle, or like, when u want to focus on different parts of the frame (i think).

other than that, its not absolutely necessary, imo.

with that said, I would put live view as one of my requirements when buying my next dslr.
appreciate your quick response, so I guess in my case you would spend the extra $300 or so for the D5000?

The only reason I'm so concerned is that I don't think I'll be getting a another camera for awhile so I would like to get it right the first time.
Deal Addict
May 20, 2008
1299 posts
68 upvotes
Toronto
not a deal breaker; but comes in handy when I need to make sure **** is absolutely in perfect focus when I put it on a tripod and leave it to go somewhere else.
Deal Addict
Mar 17, 2004
4322 posts
63 upvotes