• Apr 5th, 2014 5:28 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Fanatic
Jul 14, 2008
8312 posts
1901 upvotes
Ontario
kheavan wrote: Hey, I'm a beginner (well my lifts would indicate so) and I do the whole heavy medium light schedule because I've read that squatting 3x week can be too much.

My goal is to gain weight .. should I be going heavy 3x a week? Right now, I increase the reps on a weekly basis from 8-12. Once I hit 12, I increase the weight by 10% and start at 8 reps again. I'm sure you've heard of the program I'm doing. Is that progress rate too slow in your opinion?
If you want to gain weight and strength, just stick to a basic template like Starting Strength.
Squatting 3x week is perfectly fine for beginners, and you should be adding weight every session.
Stay in the lower range for your goal, 5RM is ideal.
I wouldn't move onto a heavy light medium until you're into an intermediate program.
Deal Expert
May 8, 2005
31836 posts
1354 upvotes
onlineharvest wrote:
And if on paper, you would know what you lift. Why is knowing what you lift such a negative thing?
You're speaking of keeping a ' training log ' - that's a basic ' training 101 ' step to follow - and not the issue IMO.

The issue(s) is the perceived necessity for the average recreational gym goer to know his or her 1RM and or to be fixated ( bordering on ' obsession ' in some cases IMO ) on ' how much ' they can lift.

And on that latter point, you see it in the gym ALL the time from those among the more ' male ego driven gym goers IMO. You know the type ....the guys who are literally obsessed day in day out with how much weight they're lifting ....you know, the ones who are constantly asking / fixated on ..." How much can you bench....BRO ? " ........" How much can you squat...... BRO ? " ............" How much can you dead-lift...... BRO ? " ..........yada yada yada.

They're pretty hilarious to watch actually !
" The placebo effect is the most powerful supplement of all "