Personal Finance

How much do you spend on hydro?

• Last Updated:
  • Aug 21st, 2011 9:02 pm
Deal Addict
Nov 29, 2009
1314 posts

How much do you spend on hydro?

Hey guys, just wondering what the typical cost of hydro is for you guys? I'm looking at places and trying to get an idea of what to expect as a single 9-5er.
63 replies
Feb 15, 2008
26318 posts
What's hydro?

a) Water?
b) Marihuana?
c) Electricity?
TodayHello wrote:
Oct 16th, 2012 9:06 pm
...The Banks are smarter than you - they have floors full of people whose job it is to read Mark77 posts...
Deal Guru
Dec 31, 2005
12848 posts
Mark77 wrote:
Aug 16th, 2011 8:08 pm
What's hydro?

a) Water?
b) Marihuana?
c) Electricity?

Around here, that has always referred to Electricity....
Dec 12, 2010
393 posts
in my experience it does vary depending on which company u go for.

Im also a student and i have 1 other roomate, its roughly 50 bucks a month for both of us. we use normal amount of electricity, never try to save but dont leave lights or computer on
Deal Addict
May 31, 2007
3059 posts
The word hysro seems to be used by people in Ontario. (not sure why). In other provinces, people say electricity.

We use about $35 per month. This includes the Ontario discount. Two people.
Deal Addict
Aug 1, 2005
1702 posts
Mine's around 140 a month in the summer... 1400-1500 kwh with the a/c on, about 900 with it off. Gas bill is cheap though, worst part of the winter is about 75 for gas, and about 5-6 during the summer.
Oct 5, 2009
469 posts
in Calgary I was paying $40 per month in a condo facing north on the 12th floor. Almost never used ac nor heat.
in Montreal I pay around $120 per month average (huge difference between summer and winter) for a condo facing west. A lot mroe sun (heat) and a lot more humidity and average cold than Calgary.

hydro prices vary so much depending on province
Deal Addict
Mar 23, 2008
3762 posts
1800 sqft detached house.