Tags:
None
[OP]
Deal Addict
May 16, 2007
1584 posts
76 upvotes

How necessary is AWD where you live?

I was talking to a co-worker about AWD and he thinks that AWD isn't necessary in Southern Ontario if you have a good set of seasonal tires (Summers/All-Seasons for the 3 seasons and Winters for Winter). It makes sense as many cars/suvs are AWD capable but drive in 2WD/FWD unless AWD is required. My wife's CRV is like this and I don't think i'd be able to tell with the AWD kicks in.

So I was wondering; what part of Canada are you in or do you think AWD/4WD is necessary? I've been driving for over 20 years and up until recently got an AWD car but don't really think it made that much of a difference for me personally.
60 replies
Deal Expert
Feb 9, 2003
17540 posts
2282 upvotes
Langley

Out of a hundred.
Jan 29, 2014
461 posts
447 upvotes
Toronto
I think having a proper set of winter tires is more important than having AWD. Few people realize that AWD is only useful when you're accelerating as it allows you to put more power to the ground in slippery situations. It does pretty much nothing in terms of physical grip or stopping distance. That being said, I have winter tires with a FWD and don't recall being stuck in the snow (requiring push/towing etc). Though I do wish I had AWD to put more power to the ground :lol:
Deal Fanatic
Nov 4, 2008
5796 posts
3747 upvotes
Richmond Hill
professormeth wrote:
Oct 15th, 2015 10:42 pm
I think having a proper set of winter tires is more important than having AWD. Few people realize that AWD is only useful when you're accelerating as it allows you to put more power to the ground in slippery situations. It does pretty much nothing in terms of physical grip or stopping distance. That being said, I have winter tires with a FWD and don't recall being stuck in the snow (requiring push/towing etc). Though I do wish I had AWD to put more power to the ground :lol: