• Dec 13th, 2018 5:07 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Aug 30, 2011
1116 posts
189 upvotes
Edmonton

How to open a student bank account when not in school

I'm a university student but I'm taking a year off from school. I currently have student accounts with TD and RBC. I was looking to open another one with BMO since I have their SPC MasterCard, and they give $75 for opening one. I went to my appointment and when I admitted I'm neither in school or working, I was denied a free student account. The terms say I have to be a currently enrolled full-time student.

But what's stopping me from making another appointment and just giving them my student ID as proof of enrollment? Would the last advisor have left notes on my personal information? Should I just make an account with Tangerine and get $200?
13 replies
[OP]
Deal Addict
Aug 30, 2011
1116 posts
189 upvotes
Edmonton
dekvitaly wrote:
Dec 7th, 2018 11:58 pm
@tablo13 told ya to just straight out lie about it.....

And Tangerine is very good. I've used it since my first credit card was in force by BMO and TD LOL
I was told by a BMO advisor on Reddit they actually look for a confirmation of enrolment letter
Deal Addict
Dec 16, 2017
1351 posts
510 upvotes
Raincouver
@tablo13 ask a friend of yours to send 1 then edit it LOOLL
I've never shown any bank my confirmation letter beside a student ID. again I speak English w/ terrible accent so it might just give away that fact?

P/S: yeah I doctor lots of things... including those like void cheque haha
[OP]
Deal Addict
Aug 30, 2011
1116 posts
189 upvotes
Edmonton
dekvitaly wrote:
Dec 8th, 2018 12:04 am
@tablo13 ask a friend of yours to send 1 then edit it LOOLL
I've never shown any bank my confirmation letter beside a student ID. again I speak English w/ terrible accent so it might just give away that fact?

P/S: yeah I doctor lots of things... including those like void cheque haha
I think TD also asked me to show them my enrolment letter
Deal Addict
Dec 16, 2017
1351 posts
510 upvotes