Tags:
Deal Guru
Feb 9, 2012
13149 posts
2117 upvotes
Toronto
ErBoProxy wrote:
Jan 4th, 2018 12:50 pm
I have worked at Pizza Hut the whole time I've been a student and I still remember all of the procedures and recipes to this day and will most likely bring them to my grave -- albeit it WAS 15 yrs ago, so who knows if it's still the case.

Usual rule of thumb in regards to the buffet is we served three regular types every day (pepperoni, cheese only and veggies), and the number of toppings for those medium-sized pizzas were the equivalent of what you would find on a small-sized pizza. It was simply to keep costs low since you can never be sure of the volume consumed / wasted on the daily buffet. The "à la carte" pizzas had the amount of toppings you would usually expect, but the buffet pizzas willingly had less toppings on them.

We also had a 4th "daily special" pizza to our rotation and, if it's looks too good to be true (for exemple : it's full of meat) it usually was because the ingredients were on their last day before getting past due date. Nothing bad per say, and obviously still edible, but the 4th pizza was akin to the "50 % off" cuts of meat you would find at the supermarket -- still good it if you eat it today, no guarantee for tomorrow though.
You need to visit the Dufferin mall Buffet location and see for yourself what it's like today though. It's a very serious joke.
It wouldn't surprise me if they really are using up all their due to expire toppings, now that I think of it, but it's still two toppings per pizza no matter what.
The thing that bothers me is that a good, better managed buffet is supposed to be one that reflects what pizzas they are selling, and acting like a reminder, just in case a buffet customer wants to order delivery in the future.
Instead, I'm left with the yuck feeling.
When I'm home I never order from them firstly because of how the buffet is kept. (needs more toppings, at least)