Careers

How to politely refuse a new job opportunity from current employer?

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 9th, 2012 5:46 pm
Tags:
None
[OP]
Feb 11, 2010
7 posts
Toronto

How to politely refuse a new job opportunity from current employer?

Trying to keep it short.

I'm a recent graduate working a completely unrelated dead-end job (data entry). I'm currently job searching for something that is more relevant, or I'm fine with even unrelevant work for now because I really want to get out there and see new faces, experience different company cultures, I'm VERY tired of being around the same people.

I was completely caught off guard today when a supervisor approached me letting me know of a job opening in another department. Currently I have full time hours but I get shifted to part time when there is less work available. He says this new job will guarantee more hours, with a possibility of turning into real full time. I did not inquire much about it at that moment, but from what I gather, the pay will be roughly the same, not much better. The work itself is also not in line with what I want to do for my career at all (has to do with printing stuff in a warehouse setting, I didn't ask much about it). Also, when I had less work before, I have been transferred to that department to do some work there and the work was unbearably boring. Incredibly mundane repetitive tasks. Even though I don't like my current work, I much prefer it over what I might have to do.