• Last Updated:
  • Mar 1st, 2007 5:30 pm
Tags:
None
Aug 14, 2006
737 posts
19 upvotes

How to report OSAP loans on tax forms?

We'll this is my first year in which I received a 1700.00 dollar loan from osap in may 2006.

Now I have not gotten and kind of t4 etc slip from osap.

Now I'm using studio tax and looking through I don't know where to report my income from this loan?

I know for student bursary's their is no tax so I don't report that 2000.00 dollars.

But for the OSAP loan where do I report it?

Can anyone help me?
15 replies
Deal Addict
Aug 16, 2005
1840 posts
80 upvotes
an osap loan is not considered income. you don't need to report it.

The bursary is considered income so you might actually have to report that. I'm not sure if the gov't changed the policies on reporting scholarships and bursaries. I just know in the past the bursaries came with a T slip.
Jul 25, 2006
917 posts
44 upvotes
Hamilton
If you're paying any interest on your osap loan you'll want to record that beacaue it's a deduction. as for the bursary there is a threshold over which I believe it's taxed - best to check you may have to report it, but aren't taxed on it. (I'm not sure of all the rules because aparently I make to much to be eligible for any of this stuff!)
[OP]
Aug 14, 2006
737 posts
19 upvotes
We'll from the cra site

Under proposed legislation, the full amount of scholarships, fellowships, or bursaries are not taxable and are no longer reported as income on your tax return. The scholarships, fellowships, or bursaries must be received by you as a student with respect to your enrolment in a program that entitles you to claim the education amount. If you are not eligible for the education amount, report on line 130 only the amount that is more than $500.

That means no more reporting it as income I guess.
Deal Addict
Feb 26, 2006
1876 posts
75 upvotes
Lizz__20 wrote:
Feb 21st, 2007 9:11 pm