None
[OP]
Mar 12, 2009
114 posts
20 upvotes
Toronto

how to set up DRIP ???

Hi all,

I own a few a few dividend stocks in my Scotia itrade rrsp account. I have enrolled in the 'DRIP' program with Scotia,but they only allow to purchase full share. The dividend I got every quarter is never enough to purchase a full share, I know some company I invested in offer DRIP that allow to purchase a fractional share. Does anyone know how can I set it up? Do I need to open a new rrsp account with them?
I tried to contact them multiple times but it didn't went through.

Please let me know.

Thanks
14 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jun 17, 2013
5120 posts
1489 upvotes
Montreal
im no expert, but don't you need to directly own in the company to do fractional DRIP? So you would buy via the company and not through your broker.
Deal Addict
Feb 6, 2012
4779 posts
345 upvotes
Gloucester, Canada
ray1202 wrote:
Sep 15th, 2014 8:27 am
Hi all,

I own a few a few dividend stocks in my Scotia itrade rrsp account. I have enrolled in the 'DRIP' program with Scotia,but they only allow to purchase full share. The dividend I got every quarter is never enough to purchase a full share, I know some company I invested in offer DRIP that allow to purchase a fractional share. Does anyone know how can I set it up? Do I need to open a new rrsp account with them?
I tried to contact them multiple times but it didn't went through.

Please let me know.

Thanks
1. go here and read all about it http://www.dripprimer.ca/
2. register an account here: http://dripinvesting.org/boards/boards.asp and read the board so you can see who is selling a certificates of the company you wants and start dripping.

Both of these sites also have good information on how to do your ABC for tax purposes. I don't believe you can Drip in RRSP other than the Synthetic drips that you are doing with the brokers.
Koodo & Public Mobile customer
Deal Addict
Jan 14, 2012
1241 posts
280 upvotes
Woodbridge