Off Topic Archive

Locked: How should I (intelligently) spend my RBC points?

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 11th, 2012 8:54 pm
Tags:
None
Banned
Apr 10, 2012
19 posts
4 upvotes
VANCOUVER

How should I (intelligently) spend my RBC points?

I had 129k RBC rewards points and spent 24k on $200 worth of Esso gift cards which have helped me out a lot since I'm a student and gas is quite expensive these days.

Now I have 105k and am not sure how I should go about spending the points.

Should I save it for a flight...or spend it on Esso GC's? My goal is to go on a trip to east asia some time in the next 2 years.

Originally i was thinking of saving a minimum of 100k for a the trip something because that's how much it would cost for a flight to east asia with the infinite avion card. But my question is....is this even worth it? I hear the taxes and fees you have to pay per ticket is astronomically high, somewhere in the ball park of 500-700? If it's that high it seems to me I'm better off spending the 100k on $825 worth of ESSO cards right? The reason for this is because if I'm going to be going on a trip with my GF or even with friends, we would MOST LIKELY be finding deals through travel agencies (my parents are going to China and they got a good deal of $990/ticket through some travel agency) which would render my 100k RBC points worthless since I wouldn't be able to take advantage of the deal nor would I be able to sit with my friends on that same flight.

So....does this make sense? The other thing I'm aware of is the once/twice-a-year conversion to BA miles (at rate of 1 point = 1.5 BA points) but again, unless you're gonna be travelling alone it's not worth the hassle right since you're still paying fees and taxes and can't really plan group trips or even a trip with your GF unless you have enough points for 2 tickets.