Careers

How significant is gender bias when choosing a career?

• Last Updated:
  • May 19th, 2017 6:47 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Mar 29, 2012
928 posts
131 upvotes
Vancouver

How significant is gender bias when choosing a career?

If the title makes sense... I'm looking to study a career, I want to work in the medical field as an x-ray tech. A lot of people say it's mostly female dominated, and that is accurate to the statistics. Is this a roadblock for men who want to get into the career? Would my chance of getting hired be lower? Should I just look at pursuing something else?
8 replies
Aug 31, 2005
988 posts
602 upvotes
I was a PACs system administrator so I know a little about this. Overall I did not see any gender bias. The reason it is largely female dominate is because in the early day of medical imaging 10 - 15 years ago, large amount of people going for nurses role ended up moved into the technologist role.

If anything, being a male would be a benefit. Just about any chef or shift manager would want to keep someone who is strong enough to help move patient onto the x-ray machine. I would say there are no reason for you to feel a road block if you are interested in this field.

As always, your mileage may vary, as this field is highly dependent on your specific situation.
[OP]
Mar 29, 2012
928 posts
131 upvotes
Vancouver
ID01 wrote:
May 18th, 2017 1:08 pm
I was a PACs system administrator so I know a little about this. Overall I did not see any gender bias. The reason it is largely female dominate is because in the early day of medical imaging 10 - 15 years ago, large amount of people going for nurses role ended up moved into the technologist role.

If anything, being a male would be a benefit. Just about any chef or shift manager would want to keep someone who is strong enough to help move patient onto the x-ray machine. I would say there are no reason for you to feel a road block if you are interested in this field.