None
[OP]
Deal Addict
Jan 3, 2012
1263 posts
31 upvotes
Mississauga

How to be successful at workplace?

I am 23 years old and I am currently working in downtown toronto earning 20$/h. The job is related to my field accounting and I graduated in Dec with an Advanced Diploma in Accounting and started working in Jan 2012.

Now my dream is to reach six figures as quickly as possible. Like before I turn 30. Is it possible? How much hard work is required to achieve success? What did u guys do to prosper at workplace?

I would appreciate if people here who were once in my position and are now very successful to provide me with some tips.
12 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 8, 2007
4854 posts
1016 upvotes
1. Be good at what you do (dont have to be the best)
2. Get noticed for it
3. Walk into a local Chapters and head over to the business / self-improvement section and pick up anyone of the thousands of books on this topic ........ the underlying themes are generally all the same
Mark77 wrote:"All aspiring students should go into the financial services - engineering is, and always has been, a poor choice for our brightest minds ... and TodayHello is my Hero ..."
Hydropwnics wrote:"TodayHello is a certified hustler and original gangster."
Deal Guru
Feb 9, 2006
10620 posts
4895 upvotes
Brampton
Get your CA or CMA as quickly as possible.

You'll be closer to 80k a year soon after. Then rinse and repeat the do a good job and get noticed for it.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Jan 3, 2012
1263 posts
31 upvotes
Mississauga
tebore wrote:
Apr 7th, 2012 12:47 pm
Get your CA or CMA as quickly as possible.

You'll be closer to 80k a year soon after. Then rinse and repeat the do a good job and get noticed for it.

I am currently doing my CGA. Since I am working full time. I am taking one CGA course per semester. So it could easily take me 3-4 years to complete my CGA considering I have to do Laurentian University courses as well to obtain a degree.
Deal Guru
Feb 9, 2006
10620 posts
4895 upvotes
Brampton