Seems like a scam trying to cash in on people going to the wrong Giant Tiger site (www.gianttiger.com) Just guessing though, not positive.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 12:36 AM #1
Is http://www.gianttiger.ca/ Legit??
Im looking to buy some software and came accross this cnd site http://www.gianttiger.ca . The prices are almost too low to be legit?? anyone know what the catch is here? or is this just a scam? any help would be great!
thanks
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked Canuck_2005 for this post.
-
Sponsored Links - Join the RedFlagDeals.com community and remove this ad.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 12:47 AM #2
Last edited by iheartpepsi; Dec 5th, 2009 at 12:52 AM.
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked iheartpepsi for this post.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 01:18 AM #3
the real GT site is http://www.gtboutique.com/
_______________
2005 befirsttoplay: official xbox360 winner, Nov 6 4am
2006 wineveryhour: Accessory Prize Pack winner, Nov 17 1pm
2009 FLIP US YOUR SMILE contest! Flip MinoHD x 2
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked penguin318 for this post.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 05:07 AM #4
Adobe CS4 Master Collection for $299.00??? I would inquire with Adobe and Microsoft to see if they really are a legit authorized dealer.
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked Blackmajik for this post.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 07:37 AM #5
Maybe not. The gianttiger.ca domain is registered to:
Note that the address is GT's corporate HQ and the e-mail contact is at gianttiger.comCode:Name: Maria Quibell Job Title: Executive Assistant Postal address: Giant Tiger Stores Limited 2480 Walkley Road Ottawa ON K1G 6A9 Canada Phone: (613) 521-8222 ext 2413 Fax: (613) 521-2523 Email: mquibell@gianttiger.com_______________
veni, vidi, Visa
——————————
Bylo's theorem of RFD posting: Let the number of posts between a reply and the post to which it refers be n. Let the probability that the poster read and comprehended the post to which they replied be p.
Theorem: p = 1/(n+1)²
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked bylo for this post.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 09:56 AM #6
I don't know how registering a domain works, but is there anyway the scammer could have put in that info with no confirmation? Because if I were trying to fake a website, I'd probably steal the domain registration details as well.
Seems VERY odd that GT would open an online software store for some reason, under it's exact store name, but with different domain end letters.
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked iheartpepsi for this post.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 11:47 AM #7
its fake
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked killoverme for this post.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 01:06 PM #8_______________
- Toronto Weddings, Fashion & Portraits Photographer -
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked CSAgent for this post.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 01:25 PM #9
Giant Tiger is owned by the Northwest Company. HQ is on Winnipeg, if I'm not mistaken.
Don't buy!_______________
Everything up there
, not in quotations, is In My Opinion (IMO). So we're clear!
19 Times. Glory glory Man United!
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked jcon for this post.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 01:26 PM #10Deal Addict




- Join Date
- Jul 1st, 2006
- Location
- Toronto, Ontario
- Posts
- 4,971
This is a complete scam. Windows Vista Ultimate for $90. Yeah right.
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked carmaster for this post.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 01:41 PM #11
interesting. if this place is on Walkley road that isn't too far from me....
_______________
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked Crackb3rry for this post.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 02:06 PM #12_______________
veni, vidi, Visa
——————————
Bylo's theorem of RFD posting: Let the number of posts between a reply and the post to which it refers be n. Let the probability that the poster read and comprehended the post to which they replied be p.
Theorem: p = 1/(n+1)²
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked bylo for this post.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 03:55 PM #13
99% certain it's a scam - they're selling pirated software. They don't mail out the software packages, you download them from their site. Now I'm not aware of any major software company which allows it's retailers to sell software through a download process. Buy software on line from NCIX, Best Buy, Future Shop etc and they mail you the package. You don't download it. Not to mention that the prices are just too ridiculously low.
Last edited by woof; Dec 5th, 2009 at 04:01 PM.
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked woof for this post.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 04:58 PM #14
Fake. Verisign is just an image, i believe normally it is a link. Also, they are not listed with the BBB as they claim. FAKE.
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked euphoria18_79 for this post.
-
Dec 5th, 2009 05:57 PM #15
whoknows???
Gianttiger is/was a trademark of North Western Company...
This Company is called Authorised Software Resellers...
The contact in ottawa is right but could be submitted during registration falsely since registars don't verify usually...
It's a branchoff/mirror from www.myevensoftware.com and www.bigbuysafe.com as well as www.cramerbuy.com (as well as others prolly) which are (put) inactive by now. Registered in Chicago, Il but to a guy named Luciano Nargili who live in Rome italy
.
They seem to have been derived from www.lunderkin.comwhich is registered since 2000 to a Carl Lewis
in Houston, TX and hoisted in Frankfurt, germany 
If you see the terms you get a big laugh: 2.3. You have no possibility to register the software with the producer and updates are accessible for selective commodities.
So good luck trying to activate your windows or office....
I sent M$ piracy a mail to investigate, but theses scammers move probably to fast for M$ to effectively shut them down, but it can't hurt
BTW the BBB doesn't have them as accredited business of course, they tried once a contact (BBB Chicago) but RTS fake adress, nothing in Houston of course
....
While Giant Tiger is an accredited BBB business as is easily to check @ www.bbb.org.
I doubt as well that the other cerifications are real...Last edited by pompoco; Dec 5th, 2009 at 06:41 PM. Reason: corrections, addition
Reply With Quote
LOG IN TO THANK
No one has yet thanked pompoco for this post.
Search Forums


