• Last Updated:
  • Dec 11th, 2018 5:16 pm
Tags:
[OP]
Nov 15, 2017
515 posts
333 upvotes

I have not bought a camera in 10 years

The last digital camera I bought was a waterproof Sony point-n-shoot. It's like a 12 year old model, and image quality is more or less on par with modern cell phones.

I am interested in getting a better camera for taking travel pictures (day & night). Criteria:

- $500 budget
- Not too bulky
- Durable
- Good battery life

I am not a professional photographer.

Salesperson at Best Buy recommended a Sony a5100. In terms of size, that would be the biggest I would like.

I read that Sony RX100 is also a good budget camera.

Any other suggestions?
50 replies
Deal Guru
Oct 27, 2003
12216 posts
2806 upvotes
Toronto
The Sony cameras are a good choice EXCEPT that they all have terrible battery life. Just get two extra Wasabi batteries on Amazon.ca for around 40 bucks and you're good to go.

It's more like $600 but I would recommend the Sony A6000.
[OP]
Nov 15, 2017
515 posts
333 upvotes
Kurtz7834 wrote:
Nov 20th, 2018 1:56 pm
The Sony cameras are a good choice EXCEPT that they all have terrible battery life. Just get two extra Wasabi batteries on Amazon.ca for around 40 bucks and you're good to go.

It's more like $600 but I would recommend the Sony A6000.
Is A6000 that much better than A5100?

Again, I'm not a professional photographer. I'll still be doing just point-n-shoot Grinning Face With Smiling Eyes
Last edited by BBZero on Nov 20th, 2018 3:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Oct 18, 2018
26 posts
4 upvotes
Budget cameras are still great for point and shoot. I was browsing and saw an article about budget digital cameras and found two good models. Nikon COOLPIX L840 is a bit like DSLR but it's not as complicated. It can be a bit bulky for your too. Samsung WB1100f is an okay one too and these are both affordable. I wonder how they're listed as budget coz I looked on Amazon and the Samsung one is still at $995.21.