Cell Phones

I'm moving from Vancouver to St. John's (NL). Which carrier should I use instead of Wind?

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 4th, 2016 2:21 pm
Deal Addict
Jun 26, 2009
1031 posts
4 upvotes
Surrey, BC

I'm moving from Vancouver to St. John's (NL). Which carrier should I use instead of Wind?

Hey,

I've been using Wind for the past several years. Although the reception has been somewhat spotty, I've generally been satisfied with their value. I'm going to be moving to St. John's for a few years. Which carrier should I use instead of Wind? I don't need much data -- 2 GB should be fine. I have my own phone so I just want the leanest cell phone plan. Finally, will I get better deals around Xmas?
The unexamined life is not worth living.
- Socrates
8 replies
Jul 15, 2003
442 posts
280 upvotes
From what I've been told by friends who go back to NFLD to visit, Bell/Telus > Rogers
Deal Fanatic
Nov 11, 2008
8976 posts
2827 upvotes
Public Mobile.....$40 - 4GB - Unlimited Text + Province Talk
Deal Expert
Nov 28, 2013
21330 posts
10938 upvotes
Oakville
Yup, there's a huge thread on the current Public Mobile promo. I just switched over myself (from Rogers), so if you have any questions feel free to PM me (though most questions should be answered in either the first post or the thread summary for that thread)
Apr 30, 2015
207 posts
48 upvotes
Mississauga, ON
Data plan with lte (and a phone that supports lte), then voip ms.
My VoIP.ms settings with Zoiper:
Disabled Echo cancellation
Sip
Transport= TCP, registry=300
Dialler integration, always on
Deal Addict
Jun 26, 2009
1031 posts
4 upvotes
Surrey, BC
wearysky wrote: Yup, there's a huge thread on the current Public Mobile promo. I just switched over myself (from Rogers), so if you have any questions feel free to PM me (though most questions should be answered in either the first post or the thread summary for that thread)
The offer looks good. How do I get started? How's the reception in Newfoundland?
- Socrates
Deal Expert