Careers

I'm a software engineer. How do I bring my gf to Silicon Valley?

• Last Updated:
  • Nov 13th, 2017 12:23 pm
Tags:
Banned
Dec 2, 2009
255 posts
75 upvotes
Terrace

I'm a software engineer. How do I bring my gf to Silicon Valley?

I want to move to California for work. I'm a software engineer. My gf is not an engineer. She does not have any high level degree. How can I bring her to work legally in the USA?
18 replies
Deal Fanatic
Jul 4, 2004
7430 posts
4677 upvotes
Ottawa
Unless she can get a work permit on her own, your GF cannot work in the US. Furthermore, since you are not married (the US does not recognize common-law), she cannot come in as your dependent so she needs to qualify for a entry on her own (most likely as a tourist for up to 6 months). There is a lot of discretion between the POE agents so you can't know for sure what will happen but if she goes to the border with you and you have a work permit, it's fairly likely that she will be refused entry in the US and could possibly be banned from the US.