Personal Finance

I'm a student and got denied from BMO,MBNA,CITI,PC...

• Last Updated:
  • Sep 4th, 2007 11:28 pm
Tags:
None
Deal Expert
Nov 7, 2003
19166 posts
476 upvotes
Shanghai, China
gman wrote:
Sep 2nd, 2007 7:39 pm
Are you saying if OP gives his SIN to the CC, they will approve him a credit card? I don't think so. I would say if he can't get the CC from CC company A, he can't regardless if he provided a SIN or not. What I am trying to say is providing a SIN will not make your life any easier at all. It is indifference in the CC approval.
That is not my point. I just don't see why he is being so paranoid about giving his SIN to the bank or any other institutions. It's like as if he has something to hide from it.
Deal Expert
Jun 14, 2003
23140 posts
188 upvotes
Sgt_Strider wrote:
Sep 2nd, 2007 9:16 pm
That is not my point. I just don't see why he is being so paranoid about giving his SIN to the bank or any other institutions. It's like as if he has something to hide from it.
Because he is supposed to and is advised to safe guard it (or be paranoid about it) by our government. Giving SIN to open a bank account is one thing and you have to do that by law. Giving SIN to get a CC is something else. I only provide SIN if the law says so.
Too many people spend money they haven't earned to buy things they don't want, to impress people they don't like. -- Will Smith
Growing older is mandatory. Growing up is optional.
Stay hungry, stay foolish.
Banned
Apr 13, 2007
373 posts
hey,

I had trouble applying at PC financial, TD, CIBC for a student credit card and non student credit cards, but when i applied for BMO mosaik 3 weeks ago and i got accepted within a week and a half with out any credit history and so forth. i should be receive my card sometime this week with a $1,000 spending limit. By the way this Wednesday coming up is going to be my first year in university.
Sep 9, 2005
734 posts
108 upvotes
Toronto
Sgt_Strider wrote:
Sep 2nd, 2007 7:28 pm