Tags:
None
[OP]
May 18, 2015
58 posts
17 upvotes
Georgetown, ON

InfoSec salaries

Can someone give me an idea of what would be an appropriate salary range for security analyst position? I see it all over the place as low as 40K and as high as >100K according to indeed. Very confusing. What would be a reasonable expectation for a seasoned IT pro transitioning to information security role?
18 replies
Mar 28, 2017
44 posts
20 upvotes
I'm a security analyst. Make about 90k to 100k with overtime, more if you factor in pension benefits. I see some people trying to get into infosec without an IT background so maybe they are only worth 40k. Not sure how you could even do this job without IT experience though. If you have sysadmin or networking experience I suspect the range is higher, maybe starting around 60k to 70k. I have seen senior security analyst positions posted at 85k go unfilled because the pay is too low for an experienced infosec person.
Jul 22, 2015
176 posts
32 upvotes
Toronto, ON
islandscott wrote:
May 19th, 2017 11:51 pm
I'm a security analyst. Make about 90k to 100k with overtime, more if you factor in pension benefits. I see some people trying to get into infosec without an IT background so maybe they are only worth 40k. Not sure how you could even do this job without IT experience though. If you have sysadmin or networking experience I suspect the range is higher, maybe starting around 60k to 70k. I have seen senior security analyst positions posted at 85k go unfilled because the pay is too low for an experienced infosec person.
Did you teach yourself or went through uni/college?
Mar 28, 2017
44 posts
20 upvotes
TorontoTacos wrote:
May 20th, 2017 5:34 pm
Did you teach yourself or went through uni/college?