• Jan 15th, 2020 2:53 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Sep 15, 2014
2174 posts
914 upvotes
Scarborough, ON

Inspection before warranty expires?

Is it worthwhile to take your car in for an inspection to see if there are any issues that can be fixed under warranty?

This would be to identify issues that I don’t see myself (I’m not a mechanic or very.. automotively inclined). I would not be opposed to paying a reasonable diagnostic fee.
This space for rent.
13 replies
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
30997 posts
16746 upvotes
Ottawa
Sure, it's called a 100 or 150 point inspection and you have to pay for it.
I guarantee you they will find all non warranty issues, related to wear and tear.
[OP]
Deal Addict
Sep 15, 2014
2174 posts
914 upvotes
Scarborough, ON
vkizzle wrote: Sure, it's called a 100 or 150 point inspection and you have to pay for it.
I guarantee you they will find all non warranty issues, related to wear and tear.
So.. are you saying it's not worth it?

Is it better to go to the dealership (where I've had all my servicing done thus far), or an independent mechanic?
Would the dealership not have an incentive to find warranty-eligible issues? Given their service department would get paid by the manufacturer?
This space for rent.
Deal Expert
Aug 22, 2011
30997 posts
16746 upvotes
Ottawa
TheImp wrote: So.. are you saying it's not worth it?

Is it better to go to the dealership (where I've had all my servicing done thus far), or an independent mechanic?
Would the dealership not have an incentive to find warranty-eligible issues? Given their service department would get paid by the manufacturer?
Techs get less book time on warranty work.
Deal Addict
Jun 18, 2018
1010 posts
579 upvotes
Toronto
I would be interested in this answer as well.. I've got year of warranty left still but good to know.

Confused as to how an ind. garage would not be able to assist?
Deal Guru
Dec 23, 2003
13836 posts
2354 upvotes
Toronto