Automotive

Installing a Dash Cam Hardwire Kit into fuse - what's the worst that can happen?

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 16th, 2019 10:08 am
[OP]
Feb 16, 2010
642 posts
164 upvotes
Toronto

Installing a Dash Cam Hardwire Kit into fuse - what's the worst that can happen?

I bought a car about a year ago and want to get a dash cam. I don't want to run the cable down to the center console where the ports are, so I'm thinking about hardwiring it into the fuse. This is something I've never done before, but I've watched a few videos on Youtube and it seems pretty easy.

I'm just wondering, what's the worst that can happen if I do something stupid like install the fuse backwards? I obviously won't use the fuse for the airbags or anything security-related, but if I do this incorrectly, can I cause permanent damage to the car?

This is the kit I'm thinking of buying: https://www.amazon.ca/MicroUSB-MiniUSB- ... way&sr=8-3
9 replies
Deal Addict
Nov 17, 2004
2250 posts
567 upvotes
Nothing. That’s the best way to install it.

Also, you can’t install a fuse backwards, so no worries.
Deal Addict
Apr 6, 2008
1358 posts
793 upvotes
You should be ok. Be sure to disconnect the main battery when doing the work. The worst that could happen is you'll blow a fuse in your car.
Deal Addict
Jul 26, 2007
3801 posts
1517 upvotes
Toronto
Worst that can happen is you tapped into ecu fuse that controls transmission, anti theft or many other system component and blow it's fuse and rendering your car immobile.

Read the fuse panel carefully and use non essential like dome lights or cig lighter.
Deal Addict
Feb 6, 2011
1307 posts
903 upvotes
Dashcams draw less than 1 amp, so you won't damage anything as long as your wiring is secure. I have a 1 amp fuse that powers up 2 dashcams with no problems.