Home & Garden

Insurance Contractor Not Doing Work To Code - Now What?

• Last Updated:
  • May 25th, 2017 11:21 pm
[OP]
Deal Addict
Dec 10, 2008
3389 posts
261 upvotes
St. John's

Insurance Contractor Not Doing Work To Code - Now What?

I had some damage to my house recently. Insurance has hired a general contractor to rebuild. All has been fine until they started insulating.

Now, I haven't been on a construction site in my life, but I've watched enough Holmes on Homes to know that some of this stuff was done either carelessly or by a complete noob.

One photo here shows a wall, with a VB installed, and large gaps in the insulation. Another photo shows no VB box around the receptacle.

What should I do now?

Update with albums

Victoria Day Weekend - https://goo.gl/photos/CDhBPKtK7pm4ZRyTA

May 23rd (post inspection) - https://goo.gl/photos/5P8t2ArCbPa3Gahr6
Last edited by RCGA on May 17th, 2017 6:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Let's hug it out
Flickr
42 replies
Deal Addict
Mar 21, 2006
4261 posts
314 upvotes
Burlington, Ontario
Get it inspected?
Is there a permit?
Audio - Video - Data - Security - This is what I do
Deal Addict
Jan 25, 2007
1793 posts
418 upvotes
Paris
Who uses pink these days???
Gbill2004: Thanks but I'll just smell the couch before/if I buy it.

jonnyb: I go in there like PICASSO and toss the glue everywhere, I don't care what house I'm on.
Deal Addict
Nov 18, 2005
4239 posts
705 upvotes
Kitchener
Sloppy work on the insulation and that looks like a plastic box which doesn't require vapour barrier
Deal Expert
May 10, 2005
26323 posts
3145 upvotes
Ottawa
Poor workmanship is not against code.
Don't think a vapour barrier box is a code requirement. The plastic and tuck tape acts as a vapour barrier and you pulling the tape off the box as you are in your photo compromises the barrier.
Oh and what you see on TV is not the real world, it is TV world where everything is perfect...especially if it is on Holmes show