Investing

Investing Idea - Dividend Growth

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 6th, 2020 9:58 pm
Jun 10, 2010
336 posts
111 upvotes
rodbarc wrote: Thanks for the kind words, and I'm happy to help. This area is a mystery to many, and I've been trying to demonstrate that anyone can do it, anyone can get better returns than the market
You don't, though.
[OP]
Deal Fanatic
Dec 14, 2010
5766 posts
6295 upvotes
CM52 wrote: You don't, though.
How so?

My portfolio has a higher yield than the market and income grows at a ratio higher than the market. This is possible by constructing a diversified portfolio focused on quality companies that grows dividends, as opposed to the market that has a mix of companies that don't pay dividends, doesn't grow dividends and cut dividends, mixed with the ones that grows dividends.

I've been investing in dividend growth stocks since 1998, but since I started to track the portfolio here, it has performed better than the market in both capital appreciation and dividend increase (see 2015 and 2016 returns here). My total return is combined with my trading models which complements investing. Although on Canadian DGI side alone total return has been less than the market, that's not the primary goal for the ones seeking perpetual income from dividends. Income growth has been better than the market (and higher than inflation), which meets my goals and allows me to reach financial independence sooner and regardless if the market might crash. XIC dividends grew by 9.9% in 2015 but decreased by 0.56% in 2016. The goal is to construct a portfolio with a reliable, dependable and growing stream of income - something that the market cannot provide.

Rod
Build a comprehensive portfolio based on Investing and Trading strategies. Check out these threads and join the discussion:

Investing strategy based on dividend growth

Trading strategy based on Graham principles.
Jun 10, 2010
336 posts
111 upvotes