IPV6 Transition and Money to be Made?

• Last Updated:
  • Mar 8th, 2011 9:33 am
Dec 26, 2007
125 posts
7 upvotes
Vancouver

IPV6 Transition and Money to be Made?

News today that the last block of IPV4 addresses will be given out today, meaning that we definitely have to upgrade to IPV6, and Internet companies are scrambling to deal with this.

http://news.cnet.com/8301-30685_3-20029 ... ag=nl.e703

This got me thinking (actually thought about it for a while), this transition to IPV6 may spell profit for us in the stock market. I'm not an expert on IPV6 and the backend operations, so I defer to those with the expertise. Which companies would be market leaders in this IPV6 transition? Google is definitely one, but what about other smaller companies? Also, what other support/auxiliary (e.g. software/hardware) activities are there associated with IPV6, and which companies are in position to benefit from it?

This IPV6 transition is going to be very important, and if certain companies can take the lead in this market, buying their shares now would be a good investment.
27 replies
Deal Guru
Feb 10, 2007
13940 posts
5439 upvotes
cisco/junpiter/all other router makers
The sweetest gyal
Banned
Feb 15, 2008
26318 posts
3242 upvotes
Calgary
Google has practically *nothing* to do with IPV6.

Generally speaking, the money is to be made in infrastructure hardware, software, and services. Actual new gear that is needed for IPV6 is minimal, but substantial amounts of software and systems will need minor modifications in order to work with IPV6 effectively.

Basically, I'd put my money on hardware builders, and software vendors.
TodayHello wrote: ...The Banks are smarter than you - they have floors full of people whose job it is to read Mark77 posts...
Jan 12, 2011
854 posts
274 upvotes
Toronto
Telcom providers that are IPV6 ready and compatible may be an option. The first to hit the market with a solution may gain customers. The race is on