It's so hard to find a job as a MSc new grad in Vancouver

• Last Updated:
  • May 17th, 2012 8:57 am
[OP]
May 14, 2012
1 posts
COQUITLAM

It's so hard to find a job as a MSc new grad in Vancouver

I graduated from a MSc in Biochemistry last Aug and moved to Vancouver hoping to launch a job here. So far I think I've applied for more than 200 jobs. I've also been trying to network by going to various events. Had 3 in person interviews and 2 phone interviews since last July. I'm even willing to enroll in an unpaid internship just to get experience. But things I've been doing didn't seem to work. And I feel very scared, discouraged and lost now. Can anybody here help me please?
22 replies
Deal Addict
Dec 28, 2006
2448 posts
389 upvotes
MavisY wrote: I graduated from a MSc in Biochemistry last Aug and moved to Vancouver hoping to launch a job here. So far I think I've applied for more than 200 jobs. I've also been trying to network by going to various events. Had 3 in person interviews and 2 phone interviews since last July. I'm even willing to enroll in an unpaid internship just to get experience. But things I've been doing didn't seem to work. And I feel very scared, discouraged and lost now. Can anybody here help me please?

What skills/experiences do you have?
Aug 19, 2002
231 posts
22 upvotes
Hate to tell you, but there's not many job prospects for young people in Vancouver. That's why I got out of there and moved to Alberta. Income tripled overnight.
Deal Addict
Aug 15, 2010
1741 posts
222 upvotes
bomba wrote: Hate to tell you, but there's not many job prospects for young people in Vancouver. That's why I got out of there and moved to Alberta. Income tripled overnight.

Well triple 0 is still 0...but nice to hear!

OP I'm sure as bomba pointed out you could get a job in the oil industry assuming you have a chemistry masters.
How can an ant carry twenty times its body weight, but root beer floats are still delicious?
Deal Guru
Dec 7, 2009
13814 posts
1327 upvotes