Personal Finance

I've had it with Scotiabank (SCENE Visa)!

• Last Updated:
  • Dec 15th, 2014 1:15 pm
Jun 25, 2009
378 posts
15 upvotes
Toronto

I've had it with Scotiabank (SCENE Visa)!

So about three months ago, I applied for a Scotiabank SCENE Visa card. I'm a graduate student, have a good income (from scholarships), and I like the SCENE Visa card because I like to watch movies. :) Anyway, when I first applied, they pre-approved me for a $5000 credit limit, which is much lower than what I get. (I already have a CIBC Aerogold with a $18k limit and an Amex without a pre-spending limit, so that $5000 was quite low to me.) When I received my card like a few weeks after, the letter said my credit limit was merely $1100. I was shocked, but I thought I would show them that I'm a good customer and paying my balance back every month.

Well, I guess that didn't help. After three months with the SCENE Visa, I requested a credit limit increasee -- a moderate one to $5000 (I guess from $1100 to $18000 would be *too* big of a leap, lol). They requested I fax them my income verification. I sent in my T4s -- which was what they said I could use, but of course, the T4s are from 2008. Two days ago, this Scotiabank customer rep called me, saying that they won't accept it. Being a graduate student, I told them I can't get any income verification (nor any income at all) until school starts again in September. I asked him if he could do anything for me. He said no. I threatened to cancel my credit card, and he said, "okay, I'll transfer you to the cancellation department."

Okay, so maybe with a $1100 credit limit, my credit card isn't worth that much to them. (I hung up when they transferred me, since I do like the card.) But is that anyway to treat a customer? Surely when they check my credit score, they know I'm a good customer. If I didn't like the SCENE program personally, they would've lost me as a customer.