Automotive

Kind of messed up a Hertz rental, need advice.

• Last Updated:
  • Apr 22nd, 2012 2:36 pm
Tags:
None
Jan 1, 2008
61 posts
9 upvotes
Scarborough

Kind of messed up a Hertz rental, need advice.

I'm a fairly new driver (G2 only), and I've rented only one other time. My neighbour has an elevated drive away and I had to park there, while a family member was taking his car out of the drive way (he works early).

I did the stupid thing of thinking I could totally compensate for the elevated height -- I was wrong, the car made a loud crashing sound. The front wasn't damaged, but the left tail light (the glass part) broke, and there were scuff marks on the left corner bumper.

Does anyone have any experience with what Hertz will do (i.e. how much they'll charge?)? I got the LDW, but I doubt it'll help me in my case.

Any help would be appreciated, thanks!
Before you ask, yes. Yes, I do regret this username.
11 replies
Oct 29, 2009
263 posts
5 upvotes
You could extend the rental and get the damages fixed.
Deal Addict
Feb 10, 2007
2521 posts
152 upvotes
edwardalex wrote:
Apr 22nd, 2012 12:20 am
You could extend the rental and get the damages fixed.

I think so too. I feel like it would be cheaper if you repaired it for them. But are you allowed to? What if they find out?
BlackJays wrote:
Mar 13th, 2010 6:02 pm
shame has been acheived
Deal Addict
Mar 18, 2004
2769 posts
52 upvotes
If you got the LDW, it should cover the damage no?
Deal Addict
Jan 3, 2009
1392 posts
178 upvotes
navyseals wrote:
Apr 22nd, 2012 12:28 am
I think so too. I feel like it would be cheaper if you repaired it for them. But are you allowed to? What if they find out?

Why would they find out? Its a light and a scuff. Just restore it and don't make a big deal out of it. Those rental companies are self-insured and will charge a craaaaazy amount of money.
[OP]
Jan 1, 2008
61 posts
9 upvotes
Scarborough
niroopg wrote:
Apr 22nd, 2012 12:38 am