• Last Updated:
  • Nov 27th, 2014 10:26 pm
[OP]
Nov 6, 2009
42 posts
1 upvote
Vancouver

Kindle deal or Kobo deal...?

There are some deals on the e-readers now that I am eyeing on... but decide to ask before I make the final call.

There is a "all-new kindle" deal by amazon for 64 bucks and Kindle Paperwhite for $119, and then there is a Kobo Aura + sleepcover deal for $100.

I am new to e-reader and they are all within my budget, but I am concern about the screen quality, book pricing difference, and cost/value in that order.

Any experienced user that might be able to give some suggestions? I am leaning towards the kobo aura at the moment.

Thanks!
18 replies
Deal Addict
Feb 18, 2007
4111 posts
298 upvotes
New Westminster
well not an expert by far but i think as far as readers go atleast tech wise both will be ok for reading.. If you like library eBooks then Kobo is the way to go unless Kindle has finally gotten into the Canadian libraries. As far as prices on eBooks well i find atleast on the books i read that amazon is cheaper over Kobo but you should check these out yourself.
Poor Grammar and being long winded don't fit well together, Oh well.
[OP]
Nov 6, 2009
42 posts
1 upvote
Vancouver
Keas wrote:
Nov 27th, 2014 1:55 pm
well not an expert by far but i think as far as readers go atleast tech wise both will be ok for reading.. If you like library eBooks then Kobo is the way to go unless Kindle has finally gotten into the Canadian libraries. As far as prices on eBooks well i find atleast on the books i read that amazon is cheaper over Kobo but you should check these out yourself.
Thanks Keas! That's quite helpful! I am wondering for library eBooks, kobo can handle it? That is a big plus for sure!

For the ebook prices, do you know about how much more is the kobo ones cost normally? I don't mind a couple bucks but if it is more then it could add up..
May 19, 2013
3 posts
Owned an Kobo and upgraded to Kindle Paper white last year much prefer the Kindle