[OP]
Deal Addict
Aug 10, 2013
1045 posts
171 upvotes
Arviat
skyblue12 wrote:
Feb 21st, 2017 3:05 pm
gonna speak from personal experience here. I was a kumon student growing up (started when I was 4 and was the top ranked student in NA for a few years). I finished both the math and reading program, and I've been working part-time at my center for over 11 years now while supplying on the side for the TDSB.

obviously there is going to be some bias here.. but I will try to be as truthful as I can.

1. kumon is not for everyone. this is probably the most important thing to keep in mind. the kumon method focuses a LOT on repetition because the two key aspects of the program are speed and accuracy. I've met a lot of parents who don't understand this mentality and constantly ask why their child is repeating worksheets even though they've completed them before.

2. there are many things that can factor into whether your child is successful in the program or not. just because you don't see results does NOT mean your child is incapable or dumb. everybody learns in different ways, and rote learning is not always the most effective.

3. one of first questions we ask newcomers is whether their interest in the program is for enrichment or remediation. kumon is a long-term program that is focused on enrichment and not remediation. this isn't a program for students who want specific help in a certain area unfortunately.

4. it's MUCH better to start the program when you're young. when you're older, it is a lot harder to go back and rebuild shaky foundation because you're so used to doing things a certain way already.