Students

Lakehead U Bridge Engineering from a Tech Diploma

[OP]
Mar 1, 2008
138 posts
Fort McMurray

Lakehead U Bridge Engineering from a Tech Diploma

Right now I'm looking into going to Lakehead for their bridge program into chemical or electrical engineering, but I just wanted to know if anyone knows of other schools that have a technology bridge program other than Lakehead.

Currently I have a Technology diploma from NAIT in Alberta and I'm looking to go into engineering. The only other school that offers anything similar is Camosun College in Victoria and it bridges into computer or electrical engineering at UVic or UBC. If anyone knows of other places ANYWHERE not just including Canada, it would really help. Also, if anyone here has experience in going from a technology diploma to an engineering degree, some experience would definitely help, wether it be about transferring, grants, or anything really.

Thanks!
-Meow!
9 replies
Nov 12, 2005
7 posts
I'm going to bump this because I have the same question. I'd also be interested in hearing from anyone who did the program at Lakehead or anyone who did engr at Lakehead.
Nov 2, 2009
1 posts
Vancouver
I finished the Lakehead Software Engineering program a few years ago (more than 5 years ago). In my opinion it is a great program that will allow you to finish an engineering degree in 2 1/2 years. The course load is very high, 7 or 8 courses per semester, as well as 2 months of engineering boot camp upon acceptance.

All of my previous classmates and I have great jobs in our chosen engineering fields. I was recruited for an IT Leadership Development Program with a multinational organization straight out of school. Overall I though the program served its purpose and allowed me to finish my bachelors degree in a compressed timeframe.
Mar 6, 2015
214 posts
4 upvotes
I have similar question.

Between a 2 year and 3 year college plus 2 more years at Lakehead
or 4 years at lakehead to get both the diploma and the degree