• May 25th, 2012 2:34 pm
Tags:
None
Apr 23, 2011
916 posts
259 upvotes
Newcastle

Laptop help with RAM and OS

Hey, I have a couple questions. I have an older Gateway Core 2 Duo running Vista Home Premium 32 bit. This came with 3GB of RAM installed, and during the FS sale a couple years ago I switched it to 4GB (2x2GB). Lately I've been thinking about upgrading the RAM, as performance information says that is what is holding the computer back. Now, I know that 32bit OS's limit the RAM to 3.xx, so I'm wondering if I should upgrade to Win7 64bit.

Now, what do you guys think? I'm competent when it comes to hardware and software, but I'm no expert. Should I go Win7, or just wait for 8? And what do you guys think about upgrading the RAM? I know I'd get a big boost with an SSD, but I just sent it away and got a new HDD and battery (Staples extended warranty), so I don't want to go replacing that right now. I've listed the specs below from Gateway's website.

Processor Intel® Centrino® Duo Mobile Technology
Intel® Core™ 2 Duo processor T5750
2 MB L2 Cache | 2.0 GHz | 667 MHz FSB
Chipset Intel® PM965
Display panel 15.4-inch Ultrabright™ WXGA TFT display (1280 × 800)
Memory 3072 MB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM (1 × 1024 and 1 × 2048)
Operates at 667 MHz
Total slots: 2 DDR2 slots | Available slots: 0 DDR2 slots
Video controller ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 2600 XT PCI Express Graphics
512 MB GDDR3 Dedicated Memory
HDMI HDMI version 1.2 connector
Webcam 1.3 Megapixel
Fingerprint reader No
Audio High definition audio - 2 channel
Hard drive 250 GB 5400 RPM SATA hard drive

And here are the Performance Information specs.

Processor Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5750 @ 2.00GHz 4.9
Memory (RAM) 4.00 GB 4.5
Graphics ATI Mobility Radeon HD 2600 5.9
Gaming graphics 1791 MB Total available graphics memory 5.2
Primary hard disk 160GB Free (298GB Total) 5.9
Windows Vista (TM) Home Premium

System
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Manufacturer Gateway