• Last Updated:
  • Sep 14th, 2008 10:02 pm
Tags:
None
Jan 23, 2005
55 posts
3 upvotes

Laser Etching On Eyeglass Lenses??

I just picked up my new pair of eyeglasses that I paid extra $$$$$ for the ultra-thin high-density lenses.

It's my first time getting these... and when I look at them from a side view... they are still much thicker than I expected (I am 500 in each eye).

Anyways, what really stands out about my new lenses is that when I look at them from a particular angle... I noticed a "stain" on each lense. When I looked carefully, it wasn't actually a stain... it was more of a logo that seems to be laser etched. The logo looks like the letter "C" with arrow heads (or curved triangles) on either side of the "C".

Has anyone seen this before? The person at the store said they have a logo on the lense because they are made by a brand name manufacturer. Is this true? Who is the manufacturer?

Thanks in advance for your help and information!
5 replies
Sep 24, 2006
248 posts
1 upvote
Toronto
MagicCollector wrote:
Sep 12th, 2008 10:47 pm
I just picked up my new pair of eyeglasses that I paid extra $$$$$ for the ultra-thin high-density lenses.

It's my first time getting these... and when I look at them from a side view... they are still much thicker than I expected (I am 500 in each eye).

Anyways, what really stands out about my new lenses is that when I look at them from a particular angle... I noticed a "stain" on each lense. When I looked carefully, it wasn't actually a stain... it was more of a logo that seems to be laser etched. The logo looks like the letter "C" with arrow heads (or curved triangles) on either side of the "C".

Has anyone seen this before? The person at the store said they have a logo on the lense because they are made by a brand name manufacturer. Is this true? Who is the manufacturer?

Thanks in advance for your help and information!
Did you get progressive lenses or single vision?
Most likely the lenses is from ESSILOR
[OP]